Things I’ve Learned from other writers

Romance Author Kate McKeever

I love belonging to a writing group. I joined a local chapter of the national Romance Writers of America organization in 1997 and have consistently attended monthly meetings, been involved in a critique group and participated in conferences, workshops and other learning/social activities over the years. As a result of that one action of joining a group years ago, I learned the mechanics, craft and business of writing. It’s one of the most important things I did to become a published writer.
Over the past year or so my small chapter had to make the difficult decision to dissolve as a part of the National organization. I personally had a lot of angst about that. After all, I had a lot of time and affection invested in this group and what would happen afterwards?
Well, yesterday I went to the first meeting of an independent writing group, formed largely of…

View original post 141 more words

Leave a Reply

